Welcome to

Flax Bourton Church of England Primary School

Aiming High, Respecting Others, Having Fun

Google Translate
Google Search

Get in touch

Contact Details

Our Governors

Tamsin Karim (Chair of Governors / Parent Governor) – Giving back to our wonderful school that both my children attend / have attended is the reason I am a parent governor. I bring twenty years of teaching experience in different schools to the governing body and I have a particular interest in the education of children with SEND.


The Chair of Governors can be contacted via the School Office:

Tel: 01275 464468

Flax Bourton Primary School

Station Road

Flax Bourton

BS48 1UA 


Sally James (Foundation Governor)  – Sally became a Governor in January 2016. Sally is also Secretary of the FBSA (Flax Bourton School Association). She has worked in Bristol for a large financial services organisation for over 23 years, in a variety of roles including branch manager, Rewards & Incentives and HR Change Management. Sally is married with one daughter in the school. She enjoys playing netball, practicing yoga and travelling.


Matt McFeat (Parent Governor) – Matt has three children at Flax Bourton Primary. He has been a parent governor at the school since 2015.  As a transport planning professional, working in the construction industry, Matt has also supported the leadership team throughout the schools expansion.


Paul Markham (Parent Governor) – Paul was appointed as a parent governor in March 2018. Professionally he is a Fellow of the ICAEW working with a range of organisations (including the education sector) during periods of change (mostly in relation to mergers and acquisition). He has two children at the school and when not running around after them, enjoys running himself and cycling.


Giles Giffin (Trust Governor)

Ann Parkinson (Trust Governor and Safeguarding Governor)

Kenji Batchelor (Parent Governor)

Ruth Newton (Foundation Governor)

Rev Richard Greatrex (Foundation Governor)


John Purcell (Clerk to Governors) – I am also Clerk at 4 other Schools within North Somerset. I have 12 years experience as a Governor, in West Yorkshire and Buckinghamshire, before relocating to North Somerset. My interest started as a parent, wanting to be able to support my own children through their education, whilst at the same time supporting and challenging the schools to be the best they could.


Jane Bennett  (Head Teacher) 


Leanne Gregory (Staff Governor)